a funeral for my childhood

The following is a polished poem inspired by Pablo Neruda’s, ” I Explain A Few Things”. I took the themes of destruction and death and instead mourned the loss of my innocence and childhood, the same way people would mourn the loss of a loved one in the war. There are also pieces of his poem integrated with my own writing. I know this is more simplistic than my usual style of poetry, but I think it’s also one of the most real things I’ve written in a long time. Our presentation on the Spanish Civil War can be found here


i want to have a funeral

for my childhood

to bury her under fresh soil

and bid farewell

but i’m not sure how to say goodbye

to someone whom i’ve never been

properly acquainted with

 

still,

i want to tell her how much i miss

everything she was

and everything she could have been

and how i feel like i’m burying

a part of myself

that died a long time ago

but i didn’t realize it was her

until i started to feel

so empty

and all the lilacs disappeared

 

i want to tell her that i will be mourning

her loss for a very,

very long time,

and so will my mother

i want to tell her that i see her in

my little sister

and i pray that she holds her hand

until she is ready to let go 

 

it will be a lovely service

and she will feel like

the colour yellow

and she will look like

mismatched braids in my hair

when i was five

and cherry popsicle stains on

sticky fingertips

 

on her tombstone i will write:

the light of June drowned flowers in your mouth

thank you

for everything

i’m sorry i let you go so quickly

i guess i thought you would just

hold on to me

for a much longer time

it seems like i only knew you

for half a moment

but i love you nonetheless

 

i hope that one day

i’ll see you in my daughter

and i hope she will think the sky is made

of cotton candy

and that all boys are as kind

and brave as her father

 

i hope there are stars in her eyes

and galaxies in her mind

i hope that my daughter understands

your importance

before you start to fade

 

this funeral for

my childhood

will happen right before sunrise

and as she is lowered into

the ground

i will watch the light clothe

her tired skin and weary eyes

until she comes back

to my dead house

my broken soul

to meet me once more.


 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *