Closed Eyes (Portrait Of Poem)

There he goes again, leaning back in his chair, letting himself go
His eyes are closed, he’s probably sleeping
His homework still isn’t finished
He used to be so good at getting his work done
He doesn’t even go outside anymore
He won’t be able to become anything in life like this
He can do it, but he chooses not to.

There he goes again, sitting in his desk with his face on his fist, letting himself go
His eyes are closed, he’s probably sleeping
He wasn’t on time for class
He isn’t wearing the proper shoes
His shirt is untucked as always
He won’t become anything in life like this
He can do it, but he chooses not to.

There he goes again, laying on his back on the side, letting himself go
His eyes are closed, he’s probably sleeping
He won’t play with us anymore
He doesn’t play sports at all
He still hasn’t handed his assignments in
He can’t become anything in life like this
He can do it, but he chooses not to.

Here I go again, allowing the sparks in my mind to become wildfires.
My eyes are closed, they probably think I’m sleeping.
But I’m not.
Im thinking, lost in my own head.
Thinking about how life as we know it came into existence.
Thinking about how the planting of a small seed can cause the emergence of a tree.
Thinking about the different ways of finding a solution.
This is the place where I wander.
Wonder about why I have to get the best grades.
Wonder about why I have to tuck in my shirt.
Wonder about why I have to play sports.
I know I can do it. I just have better things to do.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *