Carpe Diem

There are always those good and bad days. Some days, I feeling like smiling on the bus ride back to my home, laughing with my friends and sharing a few jokes. I walk home with a confident stride, greeting my family and neighbors with a smile. I feel alive, happy, ready to conquer whatever the world has to throw at me. Other days, I feel and look defeated. I walk through the halls to my classes slowly and slump in my seat without acknowledging anyone. Sometimes, I may act and talk with false happiness to avoid the pain that always comes when you think about it, but  my best friends and family are always able to see behind this veil. These days usually happen with a bad grade, a rumor spread about me, an argument or falling out with a good friend; on these days, I stay isolated from my friends and family and wonder, why does the world hate me?

I despise these days. They happen far too often for me to just ignore them and move on with my life. They usually leave my wondering for days afterwards, what could I have done differently to avoid this? As always, the answer comes to me sooner or later, and I berate myself for not realizing this before, as doing so would have avoided the whole situation. Of course, there are always those days where nothing really happens. I wake up, go to school, come home, do my homework and sleep. These are the days that I take no notice of, and just do the same series of monotonous actions everyday. They are neither good or bad, just forgettable.

I remember the first time that I heard this quote. We were watching a movie in our Grade 9 L.A class, called Dead Poets Society. It was an alright movie to watch, but I still remember hearing those words that made such a lasting impact in my day-to-day life: Carpe Diem, or seize the day. This meant to take advantage of every day and to live life to the fullest, as we can never get back the past, only move forward. Sometimes, we spend so much time getting caught up with the small, distracting details of our everyday lives that we just forget to enjoy and embrace what we have. Of course, there are some days that are just impossible to forget, and may still embarrass us today, such as failing a major test, but the important thing to always do is to learn from our mistakes and move on. After hearing that phrase, I realized just how quickly time was passing, and how much I would regret not enjoying these moments, as I would never get these back.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *