The end of days

 

The end of days

It was all so sudden. On Monday I was chilling in my room when I first noticed I had a mild cough. I thought nothing of it. It worsened on Wednesday. it had now engulfed over my being along with the shortness of breath. And on Thursday, I was sitting in front of my TV, my cough had worsened even more and I couldn’t breathe too well either, but it wasn’t the worst thing in the world. Or so I thought. I took some Tylenol and told myself I had a cold or something. And now, Friday evening, I find myself in an ambulance, headed to the emergency room, with what felt like an anvil sitting upon my chest. My breathing was shallow and my chest felt heavy. Even with the ventilator hooked up to my face, I could barely even feel anything. It was useless. It felt like my lungs were going to stop functioning any second.

I don’t know how I even got this virus. I haven’t even been outside for almost a month. How? That means that- that- hat mom has it. She’s the only one who’s been outside for work. I need to tell them. Mom has the virus. She needs to go to the hospital too. I can’t, talk. It hurts so much. I don’t think I can tell them. .But I can’t let anything happen to mom. I need to tell them. I tried to speak, but nothing came out. I was simply wasting the little breath I had left. But I couldn’t let anything happen to her. But it was pointless to keep trying. And yet, I kept trying.

Eventually, I stopped.

I could feel what little remaining breath I had slowly seep out of my lungs. And then, it started getting dark. So dark. I couldn’t see anything. Not even black. Just pure nothingness. Like the void. Seconds later, it was like my hands stopped working. I couldn’t feel the sheets of the stretcher. My hands wouldn’t even move. They were just there. And then, the sound of the sirens and the equipment juddering around slowly left. It was like the ambulance had just passed by me, and it was fading away into the horizon.

So this is what dying felt like.

As I slowly faded away from my being, I only had one thought.

This was it.

This was the end.

The end of days.

Citations

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_(personification)#/media/File:Mort.jpg

https://dott.fandom.com/wiki/Death,_The_Grim_Reaper?file=Grim_Reaper.jpg

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *