Pechakucha- The Intro to My Life

So, as you all know, my name is Francesca and I am a triplet. That is typically the first thing that people learn about me. I am also the oldest triplet and I never let my sisters forget it. I love them with my whole being and I don’t know how I’m going to manage when we go to different universities. We spend a lot of our time together and they somehow bring out the best and worst of me, but I love them for it.

*

This picture is of my sisters, my mom and I on Mother’s Day when we decided to take a picture with this wonderful display of the word “mom”. I look up to my mom so much and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. I also don’t know how she manages the three of us. She’s 100% the most hardworking person I know and I hope I will be the same one day.

*

I really love love. The idea of love, physical acts of love, the whole schebang. This picture is a craft that I made during Sunday school and I feel like it really represents who I am and how I act. Those who know me can testify that I tell all of my friends that I love them, and I truly do. I’m also a really touchy-feely person so I’m always up for a hug or cuddle with anyone that I feel comfortable with.

*

I am a Christian. I teach Sunday School at my church. Year-round, I teach most of the grades but this summer I got to teach a wonderful class of 17 seven-eight year olds and it was such an enlightening experience. Not only did I get to work with children and help lead, but it also helped me develop and grow in my own faith. Being closer to God that week also really helped me stay grounded which was ideal because-

*

– I was in the middle of tech week for Bring It On the musical at Storybook Theatre. We ended up putting on 16 amazing shows and I couldn’t have asked for more. I am a huge musical theatre fan in every aspect. I have pictures of cast party cakes, and one of me when I played Babette in Beauty and the Beast here at the high school. I’m excited this year to be in the Addams Family and I’m ready to take on being dance captain.

*

I also take singing lessons. Below are songs that I am singing for a festival in November. Singing lessons are more of the technical side of singing where I get my classical training. It helps with my love for musical theatre and helps me develop my voice in a healthy fashion. I am hoping that I’ll be able to take a voice exam this year, but more so that I just get to know my voice and where I can take it.

*

The piano is an instrument that I truly admire. I did take piano lessons as a child but I hated it. In the past couple of years however, I have grown to love it. I started taking piano lessons last year and I got to jump ahead to taking my Grade 6 exam in both the theory and practical components. I barely passed, but I still passed nonetheless, and I’m working towards my next exam now.

*

The clock represents the time that I don’t have in life. I always have made my life busy and filled with activities. I love the feeling of always doing something, which comes easy with high commitment extracurriculars. I just enjoy the rush that I get from constantly doing different things in my life, which makes me feel great, but also can burn me out. My goal this year is to not burn out like usual, which isn’t helped by my procrastinating, but I’ll do my best.

*

The one and only sport that I play is rugby. I know that I don’t seem the type of person to play such an aggressive, high-contact sport, but I love it. I like tackling people and plowing right through them. I don’t like running however, which is ironic because the type of rugby we play at school involves a lot of running, of which I do the very least that I possibly can.

*

I love to sleep. It is probably one of my most favourite things in the world other than theatre and food, and I typically don’t get very much. On a regular basis, I know I don’t get enough sleep, but when I get the chance, I can sleep for hours and hours. Once I woke up at 4 pm, ate breakfast and went back to sleep. My sisters know that I also take naps when I’m stressed or upset, which is another big reason of why I love to sleep.

*

*My laptop would not upload my images so I will upload them from a different device as soon as possible.*

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

8 thoughts on “Pechakucha- The Intro to My Life

  1. Dear Fran,

    Thank you for doing such a great job on transferring your live PechaKucha to the blog, I believe that you did amazing in both.
    I absolutely loved how you talk about your mom with passion and I remember taking that into consideration during the presentation. I also enjoyed your passion for sleeping because I relate so well to that. But my favourite line has to be: “The clock represents the time that I don’t have in life.” This is especially more funny since I know you very well and can attest to that.

    The one thing that I would recommend working on is making your writing a bit less choppy. I believe it is especially evident in: “I am a Christian. I teach Sunday School at my church. Year-round, I teach most of the grades but this summer I got to teach a wonderful class of 17 seven-eight year olds and it was such an enlightening experience.” It sounds more like a list than a story that you made it out to be during your live presentation.

    Can’t wait to read more from you!

    Sincerely,
    Tina

    1. Thank you so much for your suggestions. I totally see how my writing can turn into a bit of a list sometimes and I’ll work on changing that. Thank you for showing that my pechakucha was relatable as I was trying hard to make it so. I really appreciate how specific your comments are, they really pinpoint my strengths and weaknesses and I need that. Love you, Franny

  2. Dear Francesca,

    Your blog post was incredibly thorough and well written as it took a deep glimpse into your life. I loved how I was able to take a step into your life and learn about the things that make up who you are. At the point in which I reached the clock, I admit that I found humor in your statements. As much as I know you, I know how busy your life can get through rugby, musical theater, music lessons, and such. It is great to know that no matter how busy your life is, you work on doing what you love, and that is the best you can do.
    Something I would suggest working on would be to add more flow to your writing. As you smooth out your transitions, your writing will hold a reader’s attention and insist they keep reading. I am looking forward to reading more work from you! Keep up the awesome work!

    Sincerely,
    Juleanna

    1. Thank you for the positivity in your comments. It motivates me and lets me know that I’m making the right decisions in life. Also thank you for saying I have humour. I am not a funny person, at all, whatsoever, so I try really hard, and the fact that you thought it was humourous means a lot to me. I totally get what you mean by needing to add more flow into my work. I tend to just state things rather than letting them come together and I appreciate the fact that you thought of that. Love,
      Franny

  3. Dear Francesca,

    Diving into your blog, I didn’t know much about you, but I came out of it feeling like I know you on a spiritual level. I adore the fact that you are passionate about everything you do and want to do it to the best of your abilities. l can highly relate the line wherein you talk about loving sleep. The idea of it is just so much more appealing than actually doing work.
    I completely agree with Juleanna’s suggestion for improvement. Working towards adding a little flow will make your piece as smooth as butter and will allow your reader to slide through the piece seamlessly.
    Thank you so much for sharing!
    All the best for your voice and piano exams! 🙂

    Much Love,
    Saumyaa

  4. First off, thank you for wishing me well on my exams, I really need it. I also love how you phrased getting to know me as connecting on a spiritual level and I feel that too now. Thank you for also relating to the fact that I love sleep, I really do love sleep and the more people who also love it, the less I feel bad about sleeping in. Thank you for also adding your suggestion for making my work more seamless. I’m not a big writer and I could never really figure out why my writing doesn’t feel like a cohesive piece. I now realize that it’s because I state everything like it is and I move from topic to topic rather than letting them come together and I feel like I really needed to know that.
    Love,
    Franny

  5. Dear Francesca,
    Reading your pechakucha was like listening to you present it. The only difference in language would be the missing “You know?”s and “Right?”s. You really managed to take a broad selection of topics relating to you and put them together in a way that made it seem as if you touched on everything.
    My suggestion is different from the above because I think you should change seven-eight to 7-8 or put a “to” in there because it is kind of weird.
    To help with you flow, specifically that one Tiny Tina mentioned, I think you just need to move some punctuation and slightly reorganise what remains. Let me give you an example: “I am a Christian. I teach Sunday School at my church year-round. Usually, I teach most grades but this summer, I got to teach a wonderful class of seventeen 7-8 year olds and it was such an enlightening experience.” I hope that helped and, Tiny Tina, I hope that was what you were talking about.
    Sincerely, IB.

    1. Thank you for mentioning the overall vibe of my pechakucha. While writing it down, I tried to embody what I would have said, and I’m glad that it worked out. I totally agree with your 7-8 change, it makes it easier to read and understand. Also thank you for helping me with the flow that Tina mentioned. While she had great advice, I’m grateful that you also gave an example as how I would fix my awkwardly worded sentences. It really helped! Thanks again!
      Sincerely, Franny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *