Is this freedom?

They sit

I sit

They plan

I plan

 

I call it freedom,

It is neither the truth nor a lie

I assume

They know

I assume

They understand

 

We sit, watch, fixated on one spot

as the world around us shatter.

They claim to be activists,

world leaders, helpers, volunteers,

responsible global citizens.

 

to what extent should individuals embrace globalization?

They ask

I respond

They ask They speak, They command

I reply, I obey, oblivious of the truth

 

Assimilated from birth

10 yrs of education

in a factory to create more machine gears.

selected by geography, gender, race, ethnicity.

it is indeed equality

 

Loan money to developing countries They say

it will improve their standard of living They say

I believed them

thought it all to be true

 

until

until

until

until

I am awoken

from the deep slumber of societal norms

bondage of rules –

set aside to make each individual “accountable”

where is the humanity

‘Loan money to the developing countries’

seemed like a great idea

but perhaps it’s not entirely their fault

we all knew,

WE KNEW!!

or maybe we didn’t

we are just gears in Their machine

poor yet given loans with such conditions:

pay them back in 25yrs they say;

we will help you they claim:

Austerity programs and higher taxes will help you gain back your wealth.

Corruption

Greed

Hypocrisy

MONEY!MONEY!!

we are no longer humans

I speak up

They silenced me

I tried

They won

I am free

They control me

Societal norms, rules, agreements

humanitarian aid, assimilation, genocides

the birth of a new idea.

How shall we get richer They ask

I respond

They ask They speak, They command

I reply, I obey, oblivious of the truth

 

This is freedom.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *