O Captain! my Captain! Emulation

I decided to continue with “O Captain! my Captain!” and make an emulation piece for my free choice.

 

O Captain! My Captain! Our fearful trip is done,

With careful thought and precise actions, we’ve managed to work as one,

Though with humble start and poor beginning,

This bloody war we’ve managed to be winning,

But O heart! heart! heart!

Your body drips red

And I cry, Hark! Be still,

But the bleeding does not end.

 

O Captain! My Captain! Rise up and hear the bells;

Your nation stands strong in numbers, more than the eye can tell,

We look up to you, standing tall and proud on the podium where it all began,

And surely, when time passes, I will see you once again,

Here Captain! Dear father!

Please take my hand

My confidence has started to waver

But still the bleeding does not end.

 

My Captain is gone, no more under his leadership will we prevail,

I desperately labour to feel his pulse, but to no avail,

Our bloody mission is over, we did it, we won!

But now I weep, for my Captain is gone.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *